Special Events & Concerts

Our Special Events and Concerts include luncheons, backyard BBQs, weekday and Sunday concerts, seasonal festivals, cultural and holiday lunches and presentations, movies, and more!

The cost of caregivers to attend events and concerts is the same price as members. Please purchase your tickets in advance to avoid disappointment as events sell out quickly!

For more information about Special Events and Concerts, please contact Lily Boltianski at 416-225-2112, ext. 103 or lilyb@betelcentre.org.


Sunday Lunch and Lecture Series 
Join us for a morning presentation followed by a delicious kosher lunch.
Admission is free. Drop in. No registration required.
Presentation: 10:00 am – 11:30 am
Lunch: 11:30 am – 12:30 pm
Sunday, January 26 – ‘The Bomb Girls of Scarborough’ Speaker: Barbara Dickson, Author
Sunday, February 9 – ‘The Crate: A Story of War, Murder and Justice’ Speaker: Deborah Levison, Author
Sunday, March 8 – ‘The Jewish Influence in Jazz’ Speaker: Reuven Grajner, Pianist and Composer

E-FundedByGoC-Canada-Col300ResPSD (2)
Winter Sunday Lunch and Learn Series Flyer


 

Ballet on the Big Screen
‘Giselle’
Wednesday, January 22
1:30 pm – 3:30 pm
$4 members $8 non-members


Lecture: ‘Retirement Behind Bars’
After an abrupt end to a 30 year career at a high profile law firm teaching technology, Phyllis Taylor rose to achieve her ultimate professional pride. Join us to learn more about Phyllis’ current position delivering motivational workshops at our Ontario prisons. Learn about life in the prison system and how coaching and counselling marginalized people on their healing journey has been the biggest role of Phyllis’ life.
Speaker: Phyllis Taylor, Motivational Speaker and Life Coach
Wednesday, January 29
1:30 pm – 3:00 pm
Cost: Free


Movie on the Big Screen
‘Singin’ in the Rain’
Sunday, February 2
1:00 pm – 3:00 pm
Cost: Free


Valentine’s Day Lunch, Concert and Market
Wednesday, February 12
Market: 10:00 am – 2:00 pm
Lunch: 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm
$20 members $25 non-members


Valentine’s Day Party
Thursday, February 13
7:00 pm – 10:00 pm
$31 members $39 non-members


Concert on the Big Screen
Andre Rieu
Sunday, February 16
1:00 pm – 3:00 pm
$4 members $8 non-members


Concert
Cantor Daniel
Sunday, February 23
1:30 pm – 2:30 pm
$5 members $10 non-members


Lecture: ‘Life and Death in Pompeii’
Speaker Felice Gorica
Wednesday, February 26
1:30 pm – 3:00 pm
Cost: Free


Samovar Day
Celebrate Russian culture with a market, movie and concert.
Wednesday, March 4
10:00 am – 3:00 pm
Cost: Free


Purim Tea & Concert
Wednesday, March 11
1:00 pm – 2:30 pm
$10 members $15 non-members


Sunday at the Movies!
Join Judy Skolnick as she introduces and leads a discussion on the film.
A Letter to Three Wives (1949)
Sunday, March 15
1:00 pm – 3:30 pm
Cost: Free


Concert
Singer Emilio Zarris
Sunday, March 22
1:30 pm – 2:30 pm
$8 members $10 non-members


Opera on a Big Screen
‘Armida’
Wednesday, March 25
1:30 pm – 3:30 pm
$4 members $8 non-members


Anniversary of the Russian Golden Age Culture Program
Dinner and Dance
Thursday, March 26
7:00 pm – 10:00 pm
$31 members $39 non-members


Ballet on the Big Screen
‘The Glory of The Bolshoi’
Documentary film about the Russian ballet company.
Sunday, March 29
1:30 pm – 3:30 pm
$4 members $8 non-members